Help please!! Hide and stealth rules
If you’ve already successfully used Stealth at least 10 feet from your target, you can make one ranged attack and then immediately use Stealth again. You take a –20 penalty on your Stealth check to maintain your obscured location.
Usually none. Normally, you make a Stealth check as part of movement, so it doesn’t take a separate action. However, using Stealth immediately after a ranged attack (see Sniping, above) is a move action.
So my question is what type of action is it to hide? Under the hide rules it doesn't say anything about hiding being an action. With hide in plain sight couldn't I be hiding all the time with no penalties? I wasn't using a ranged weapon and if it has to be part of a move action I still had movement left from spring attack.